546 Results
546 Results
Synonyms

A ferociously funny movie about the existential angst of an expat. Yoav, a disaffected young Israeli, flees Tel Aviv for Paris to start a new life. Desperate to erase his origins, Yoav sees France as his only hope for sa...

Colors of truth a Carnton novel —Alexander, Tamera, author.
Large Print
2021
Availability: 0 of 1

"In 1866, Catriona O'Toole arrives in the town of Franklin, Tennessee, searching for her younger brother, Ryan, who, according to his last letter, was headed for Franklin only days before the catastrophic Battle of Frank...

House of sand and fog —Dubus, Andre, 1959-

People with ordinary flaws, looking for a small piece of ground to stand on, driven by the same needs to inevitable conflict.

The city beautiful —Polydoros, Aden, author.

"Chicago, 1893. For Alter Rosen, this is the land of opportunity and he dreams of the day he'll have enough money to bring his mother and sisters to America, freeing them from the oppression they face in his native Roman...

The shoemaker's wife : a novel —Trigiani, Adriana.

This intricately woven tapestry of love and family, war and loss, risk and destiny follows star-crossed lovers Enza, a practical beauty, and Ciro, a strapping mountain boy, who, after their first meeting in the Italian A...

John Henry

Ex-gang member John Henry is a quiet man with a violent history. John is forced to revisit his troubled past in order to save two immigrant kids on the run from his former gang leader. Set in the gritty streets of South ...

No ocean too wide a novel —Turansky, Carrie.
Large Print
2019
Availability: 0 of 3

"In this historical adventure for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, the three youngest McAllister children are taken to Canada as British Home Children without their mother's knowledge or permiss...

The emperor's babe : a novel —Evaristo, Bernardine, 1959- author.

Londinium, AD 211. Zuleika is a modern girl living in an ancient world. She's a back-alley firecracker, a scruffy Nubian babe with tangled hair and bare feet - and she's just been married off a fat old Roman. Life as a t...

Man push cart

The experiences of those living on the margins of the American dream. Back in his home country of Pakistan, Ahmad was a famous rock star. Now a widower separated from his son and adrift in New York, he works long hours s...

Miss Treadway and the field of stars : a novel —Emmerson, Miranda, author.

"In this sparkling debut novel imbued with the rich intrigue of Kate Atkinson's literary mysteries and the spirited heart of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand, a disparate group of Londoners plunge into a search for a missing...

An emotion of great delight —Mafi, Tahereh, author.

It's 2003, several months since the US officially declared war on Iraq, and the American political world has evolved. Tensions are high, hate crimes are on the rise, FBI agents are infiltrating local mosques, and the Mus...

Uprising —Haddix, Margaret Peterson.

In 1927, at the urging of twenty-one-year-old Harriet, Mrs. Livingston reluctantly recalls her experiences at the Triangle Shirtwaist factory, including miserable working conditions that led to a strike, then the fire t...

The jade peony : a novel —Choy, Wayson, 1939-

Told through the vivid, intense reminiscences of three children of an immigrant family. They each experience a very different childhood as they encounter the complexities of birth and death, love and hate, kinship and ot...

We are not from here —Torres Sanchez, Jenny, author.

"Pulga has his dreams. Chico has his grief. Pequeña has her pride. And these three teens have one another. But none of them have illusions about the town they've grown up in and the dangers that surround them. Even with...

The edge of lost —McMorris, Kristina, author.

Weaves together the story of the disappearance of a prison guard's daughter on Alcatraz in 1937, and an Irish boy's efforts 20 years earlier to find his real father in America.

Patterns of love —Hatcher, Robin Lee.
Large Print
1998
Availability: 3 of 3

Swedish immigrant Inga Linberg, a pastor's daughter, agrees to a marriage of convenience in hope of finding real love.

... 2 3 4 5 6 ...