82 Results
82 Results
Donner dinner party —Hale, Nathan, 1976-

The Reed family struggles to survive the wagon train journey from Illinois to California as members of the ill-fated Donner Party.

Across the wide and lonesome prairie : the diary of Hattie Campbell —Gregory, Kristiana.

In her diary, thirteen-year-old Hattie chronicles her family's arduous 1847 journey from Missouri to Oregon on the Oregon Trail. In a diary format, this novel chronicles the hardships that pioneers endured during a trip ...

A name of her own —Kirkpatrick, Jane, 1946-

During the fur-trapping ear of the early 1800s, with two rambunctious young sons to raise, Marie refuses to be left behind in St. Louis when her husband heads west.

Westering women a novel —Dallas, Sandra, author.
Large Print
2020
Availability: 1 of 2

"It's February, 1852, and all around Chicago, Maggie sees postings soliciting 'eligible women' to travel to the gold mines of Goosetown. A young seamstress with a small daughter, she has nothing to lose. She joins forty-...

The race to Chimney Rock —Wiley, Jesse, author.

A family makes the treacherous journey to Chimney Rock along the Oregon Trail, in a book where the reader's choices determine the outcome of the expedition.

One more river to cross —Kirkpatrick, Jane, 1946- author.

In 1844, two years before the Donner Party, the Stevens-Murphy company left Missouri to be the first wagons into California through the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Mostly Irish Catholics, the party sought religious freedom ...

Child in the valley —Sauer, Gordy, author.

"For fans of Ian McGuire's The North Water and Michael Punke's The Revenant, Child in the Valley by Gordy Sauer is a coming-of-age story set in the harsh landscape of Gold Rush America, centering on a orphan's journey to...

Every fixed star —Kirkpatrick, Jane, 1946-

"New trials confront Marie: an abrupt ending to love, separation from friends, the disappearance of one child, a puzzling, painful division from another. Through it all, she struggles to know her purpose and worth. Wha...

Westward hearts —Carlson, Melody.

Kentucky, 1854. Elizabeth has mourned her husband's death for three years, but now she feels ready to fulfill the dream they had shared: to take their two children west. At Kansas City, they join a substantial wagon trai...

The last crossing —Vanderhaeghe, Guy, 1951-

Set in the late nineteenth century, this sweeping saga of interwoven lives describes an epic journey across the old west. Charles Gaunt, a disillusioned English artist, and his tormented older brother are searching for ...

The quick and the dead —L'Amour, Louis, 1908-1988, author.
Large Print
2011
Availability: 10 of 11

Con Vallian knew the best way to stay out of trouble was to mind his own business. Then he stopped for a cup of coffee at a stranger's campfire and found himself guiding the McKaskels, a family of greenhorn Easterners, a...

Boone's Lick : a novel —McMurtry, Larry.

"Boone's Lick" is a major novel in the rich tradition of "Lonesome Dove" and "Comanche Moon" about the opening up of the American West. The first novel in a new series, it is the story of a trek by riverboat and wagon fr...

1 2 3 ...