416 Results
416 Results
The huntress : a novel —Quinn, Kate, author.
Book
2019
10 available of 65 items

On the icy edge of Soviet Russia, bold and reckless Nina Markova joins the infamous Night Witches - an all-female bomber regiment - wreaking havoc on Hitler's eastern front. But when she is downed behind enemy lines and ...

The huntress a novel —Quinn, Kate.
Large Print
2019
5 available of 14 items

Bold and fearless, Nina Markova always dreamed of flying. When the Nazis attack the Soviet Union, she risks everything to join the legendary Night Witches, an all-female night bomber regiment wreaking havoc on the invadi...

The song of Achilles —Miller, Madeline, author.
Book
2012
1 available of 13 items

Patroclus, an awkward young prince, follows Achilles into war, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they have learned, everything they hold dear. And that, before he is ready, he will be forced ...

The secret messenger —Robotham, Mandy, author.
Book
2020
0 available of 32 items

Venice, 1943: The world is at war, and Stella Jilani is leading a double life. By day she works in the lion's den as a typist for the Reich; by night, she risks her life as a messenger for the Italian resistance. Against...

Sisters of war —Kortchik, Lana, author.
Book
2020
3 available of 15 items

Watching the Red Army withdraw from Ukraine in the face of Hitlers relentless advance, sisters Natasha and Lisa Smirnova realize their lives are about to change forever and as the German army occupies their city of Kiev,...

The war below —Skrypuch, Marsha Forchuk, author.
Book
2018
4 available of 8 items

Luka, a Ukrainian boy working in a slave labor camp, plays dead after an explosion at the factory and escapes, eventually joining a resistance group that opposes both the Nazis and the Soviets, and through the danger of ...

Allies —Gratz, Alan, 1972- author.
Book
2019
10 available of 23 items

It is June 6, 1944, D-Day, and Dee Carpenter (true name Dietrich Zimmermann), an underage private in the United States Army, is headed for Omaha Beach, seeking revenge for his uncle, who was arrested by Nazis when Dee wa...

Heroes on the home front —Clarke, Annie, author.
Book
2019
1 available of 1 items

"December 1941, North East England. Despite the recent loss of her father, Sarah is settling well into her new role at the munitions factory. Her blossoming romance with pitman Stan is a welcome distraction from the dang...

Liberation —Kealey, Imogen, author.
Book
2020
8 available of 19 items

Hero. Soldier. Spy. Leader. Her name is Nancy Wake. To the Allies, she was a fearless freedom fighter, a special operations legend, a woman ahead of her time. To the Gestapo, she was a ghost, a shadow, the most wanted pe...

Grenade —Gratz, Alan, 1972- author.
Book
2018
15 available of 29 items

On April 1, 1945 with the battle of Okinawa beginning, fourteen-year-old native Okinawan Hideki, drafted into the Blood and Iron Student Corps, is handed two grenades and told to go kill American soldiers; small for his ...

Lilac girls : a novel —Kelly, Martha Hall.
Audio Books
2016
2 available of 4 items

The lives of three women converge at the Ravensbrück concentration camp as Caroline Ferriday resolves to help from her post at the French consulate, Kasia Kuzmerick becomes a courier in the Polish resistance, and Herta ...

Children of the stars : a novel —Escobar, Mario, 1971- author.
Book
2020
4 available of 10 items

August 1942. Jacob and Moses Stein, two young Jewish brothers, are staying with their aunt in Paris amid the Nazi occupation. The boys' parents, well-known German playwrights, have left the brothers in their aunt's care ...

Catch-22 —Heller, Joseph.
Book
2011
12 available of 20 items

The words I never wrote : a novel —Thynne, Jane, author.
Book
2020
5 available of 14 items

"New York, present day: On a whim, photographer Juno Lambert buys the 1931 Underwood typewriter that once belonged to celebrated journalist Cordelia Capel. Within its case she discovers an unpublished novel, igniting a t...

The English patient : a novel —Ondaatje, Michael, 1943-
Book
1993
48 available of 55 items

Village of scoundrels : based on a true story of courage during WWII —Preus, Margi, author.
Book
2020
6 available of 10 items

In the 1940s, remote Les Lauzes, France, houses Jews, unregistered foreigners, forgers, and others who take great risks to shelter refugees and smuggle them to safety in Switzerland.

Sink or swim : a novel of WWII —Watkins, Steve, 1954- author.
Book
2017
3 available of 4 items

In January 1942, twelve-year-old Colton is on his family's fishing boat in the Atlantic with his older brother Danny when the boat is capsized by a Nazi U-boat, and Danny is severely injured; realizing how close the enem...

Task force Baum —Shipman, James D., author.
Book
2019
4 available of 6 items

In the tradition of Saving Private Ryan and Bridge Over the River Kwai, bestselling author James D. Shipman delivers a powerful, action-packed novel that illustrates the long-buried secrets and unending costs of war -- b...

Silver stars : a front lines novel —Grant, Michael, 1954- author.
Book
2017
11 available of 12 items

Summer 1943. The enemy has been bloodied, but Nazi Germany is very far from beaten. Now the American army is moving on to their next target: the Italian island of Sicily. With heavy memories of combat, the three young so...

1 2 3 ...