20900 Results
20900 Results
Rainwater —Brown, Sandra, 1948-
Book
2009
83 available of 90 items

"The year is 1934. With the country in the stranglehold of drought and economic depression, Ella Barron runs her Texas boardinghouse with an efficiency that ensures her life will be kept in balance. Between chores of coo...

No safe harbour : the Halifax explosion diary of Charlotte Blackburn —Lawson, Julie, 1947-
Book
2006
43 available of 49 items

Twelve year old Charlotte Blackburn receives a diary from her brother serving overseas in France during World War One and uses it to record the events leading up to and following the Halifax Explosion of December 6, 1917...

In Farleigh Field : a novel —Bowen, Rhys, author.
Book
2017
3 available of 6 items

World War II comes to Farleigh Place, the ancestral home of Lord Westerham and his five daughters, when a soldier with a failed parachute falls to his death on the estate. After his uniform and possessions raise suspicio...

The winter sea —Kearsley, Susanna.
Book
2008
8 available of 11 items

When novelist Carrie McClelland decides to set her new novel in Slains Castle in Scotland and uses her ancestor, Sophia Paterson, as one of the characters, the novel begins to take on a life of its own and Carrie soon re...

The death of my country : the plains of Abraham diary of Geneviève Aubuchon —Trottier, Maxine.
Book
2005
37 available of 41 items

In May 1759, Abenaki Indian Geneviève Aubuchon must choose between remaining with her friends in Québec or retreating to the Abenaki mission at St. Francis so that she may be safe. Includes historical note.

The Irish heiress —O'Riley, Kaitlin, author.
Book
2019
19 available of 25 items

"Quiet and intuitive, Lady Mara Reeves has always felt more at home amid the green hills of her native Ireland than in London's stifling ballrooms. Determined to remain single, she's adept at gently rebuffing any suitor ...

Deceived by desire —Force, Marie, author.
Book
2019
22 available of 25 items

Murder at Kensington Palace —Penrose, Andrea, author.
Book
2019
3 available of 5 items

Keeley : Keeley's big story —Ellis, Deborah, 1960-
Book
2005
24 available of 27 items

In 1902 in the coal-mining town Frank, Alberta, Keeley decides to investigate a series of missing objects and the strange behaviour of her teacher in hopes of publishing the story in the newspaper. Meanwhile, some adults...

The girls with no names —Burdick, Serena, author.
Book
2020
0 available of 23 items

'The Home for Unwanted Girls' meets 'The Dollhouse' in this historical novel of secrets, deception, and sisterhood, as one sister goes missing and her younger sister hatches an audacious plan to be admitted to the House ...

Lampedusa : a novel —Price, Steven, 1976- author.
Book
2019
20 available of 37 items

In sun-drenched Sicily, among the decadent Italian aristocracy of the late 1950s, Giuseppe Tomasi, the last prince of Lampedusa, struggles to complete a novel that will be his lasting legacy. With a firm devotion to the ...

The invention of wings —Kidd, Sue Monk.
Book
2014
46 available of 57 items

"The story follows Hetty "Handful" Grimke, a Charleston slave, and Sarah, the daughter of the wealthy Grimke family. The novel begins on Sarah's eleventh birthday, when she is given ownership over Handful, who is to be h...

The song of the jade lily —Manning, Kirsty, author.
Large Print
2019
0 available of 3 items

""A gripping historical novel that tells the little-known story of Jewish refugees who fled to Shanghai during WWII. 1939: Two young girls meet in Shanghai, also known as the "Paris of the East". Beautiful local Li and J...

The night diary —Hiranandani, Veera, author.
Book
2018
6 available of 9 items

Shy twelve-year-old Nisha, forced to flee her home with her Hindu family during the 1947 partition of India, tries to find her voice and make sense of the world falling apart around her by writing to her deceased Muslim ...

With you always —Hedlund, Jody, author.
Large Print
2017
4 available of 6 items

When a financial crisis in 1850s New York leaves three orphaned sisters nearly destitute, the oldest, Elise Neumann, knows she must take action. She's had experience as a seamstress, and the New York Children's Aid Socie...

We were the lucky ones —Hunter, Georgia, 1978- author.
Large Print
2017
0 available of 5 items

An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who scatter at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive, and to reunite.

Love at last : three historical novellas of love in days gone.
Book
2019
4 available of 7 items

"Regency England, Late 1800s New York, and 1920s Maine come alive in this romantic and inspiring novella collection from three Christian historical fiction authors! Includes Kristi Ann Hunter's A Search for Refuge, Eliza...

How to marry a Highlander —Sinclair, Michele, author.
Book
2019
12 available of 16 items

The secrets we kept —Prescott, Lara, author.
Book
2019
8 available of 42 items

A thrilling tale of secretaries turned spies, of love and duty, and of sacrifice--the real-life story of the CIA plot to infiltrate the hearts and minds of Soviet Russia, not with propaganda, but with the greatest love s...

The weight of ink —Kadish, Rachel, author.
Book
2017
7 available of 12 items

"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of In...

1 2 3 ...