20144 Results
20144 Results
Flying Angels : A Novel. —Steel, Danielle.

World War II brings together six remarkable young flight nurses, who face the challenges of war and its many heartbreaks and victories as unsung heroes, in this inspiring novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author D...

Rainwater —Brown, Sandra, 1948-

"The year is 1934. With the country in the stranglehold of drought and economic depression, Ella Barron runs her Texas boardinghouse with an efficiency that ensures her life will be kept in balance. Between chores of coo...

The Diamond Eye : A Novel. —Quinn, Kate.

Kate Quinn returns with an unforgettable WWII tale of a quiet librarian who becomes historys deadliest female sniper. Based on a true story, 'The Diamond Eye' is a haunting novel of heroism born of desperation, of a moth...

With you always —Hedlund, Jody, author.
Large Print
2017
Availability: 0 of 5

When a financial crisis in 1850s New York leaves three orphaned sisters nearly destitute, the oldest, Elise Neumann, knows she must take action. She's had experience as a seamstress, and the New York Children's Aid Socie...

The evening and the morning —Follett, Ken.
Large Print
2020
Availability: 2 of 11

"It is 997 CE, the end of the Dark Ages. England is facing attacks from the Welsh in the west and the Vikings in the east. Those in power bend justice according to their will, regardless of ordinary people and often in c...

The death of my country : the plains of Abraham diary of Geneviève Aubuchon —Trottier, Maxine.

In May 1759, Abenaki Indian Geneviève Aubuchon must choose between remaining with her friends in Québec or retreating to the Abenaki mission at St. Francis so that she may be safe. Includes historical note.

No safe harbour : the Halifax explosion diary of Charlotte Blackburn —Lawson, Julie, 1947-

Twelve year old Charlotte Blackburn receives a diary from her brother serving overseas in France during World War One and uses it to record the events leading up to and following the Halifax Explosion of December 6, 1917...

We were the lucky ones —Hunter, Georgia, 1978- author.
Large Print
2017
Availability: 0 of 4

An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who scatter at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive, and to reunite.

Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens —Penrose, Andrea, author.

The upcoming marriage of the Earl of Wrexford and Lady Charlotte Sloane promises to be a highlight of the season, if they can first untangle--and survive--a web of intrigue and murder involving the most brilliant scienti...

Still Life. —Winman, Sarah.

Set between WWII and the 1980s, 'Still Life' is a beautiful, big-hearted story of strangers brought together by love, war, art, flooding, and the ghost of E. M. Forster. From the author of 'Tin Man' and 'When God Was a R...

Meant to be —Deveraux, Jude, author.

The award-winning author of "A Knight in Shining Armor" presents a historical family saga chronicling the lives and loves of three generations of women in a small Kansas community.

The weight of ink —Kadish, Rachel, author.

"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of In...

News of the world : a novel —Jiles, Paulette, 1943- author.

"In the aftermath of the Civil War, an aging itinerant news reader agrees to transport a young captive of the Kiowa back to her people in this exquisitely rendered, morally complex, multilayered novel of historical ficti...

Everyone knows your mother is a witch —Galchen, Rivka, author.

"Drawing on real historical documents but infused with the intensity of imagination, sly humor, and intellectual fire for which award-winning author Rivka Galchen's writing is known, Everyone Knows Your Mother Is a Witch...

The wrong marquess —Lorret, Vivienne, author.

"The wrong place ... Elodie Parrish can feel spinsterhood breathing down her neck. That's the trouble with waiting for the marquess next door her entire life. But Ellie knows if she gives him one last Season, he'll final...

The invention of wings —Kidd, Sue Monk.

"The story follows Hetty "Handful" Grimke, a Charleston slave, and Sarah, the daughter of the wealthy Grimke family. The novel begins on Sarah's eleventh birthday, when she is given ownership over Handful, who is to be h...

In Farleigh Field : a novel —Bowen, Rhys, author.

World War II comes to Farleigh Place, the ancestral home of Lord Westerham and his five daughters, when a soldier with a failed parachute falls to his death on the estate. After his uniform and possessions raise suspicio...

Unforgiven —Balogh, Mary, author.
Large Print
2016
Availability: 5 of 9

"New York Times bestselling author Mary Balogh returns to Regency England in the second novel of her Horsemen Trilogy, a tale of unforgiven sins and unforgettable passion. Moira Hayes hadn't seen Kenneth Woodfall in near...

Island queen : a novel —Riley, Vanessa, author.

A remarkable, sweeping historical novel based on the incredible true life story of Dorothy Kirwan Thomas. Born into slavery on the tiny Caribbean island of Monserrat, Doll bought her freedom--and that of her sister and h...

1 2 3 ...