20416 Results
20416 Results
Rainwater —Brown, Sandra, 1948-
Book
2009
83 available of 88 items

"The year is 1934. With the country in the stranglehold of drought and economic depression, Ella Barron runs her Texas boardinghouse with an efficiency that ensures her life will be kept in balance. Between chores of coo...

No safe harbour : the Halifax explosion diary of Charlotte Blackburn —Lawson, Julie, 1947-
Book
2006
42 available of 49 items

Twelve year old Charlotte Blackburn receives a diary from her brother serving overseas in France during World War One and uses it to record the events leading up to and following the Halifax Explosion of December 6, 1917...

An echo in the darkness —Rivers, Francine, 1947-
Large Print
2015
2 available of 6 items

A year has passed and Hadassah has donned veils to conceal her identity and the scars that now mark her body. Believed dead, she works helping a doctor and becomes skilled at healing through faith. When Julia falls ill, ...

The death of my country : the plains of Abraham diary of Geneviève Aubuchon —Trottier, Maxine.
Book
2005
37 available of 41 items

In May 1759, Abenaki Indian Geneviève Aubuchon must choose between remaining with her friends in Québec or retreating to the Abenaki mission at St. Francis so that she may be safe. Includes historical note.

The pull of the stars a novel. —Donoghue, Emma.
Large Print
2020
0 available of 4 items

A novel set in 1918 Dublin offers a three-day look at a maternity ward during the height of the Great Flu pandemic.

We were the lucky ones —Hunter, Georgia, 1978- author.
Large Print
2017
0 available of 5 items

An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who scatter at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive, and to reunite.

The most eligible lord in London —Quinn, Ella, author.
Book
2020
18 available of 23 items

"Handsome, rakish, incorrigibly flirtatious--Fredrick, Lord Littleton, is notorious. Lady Adeline Wivenly is resolved to keep him at arm's length during her first Season--until she overhears another woman's plot to trick...

I survived the California wildfires, 2018 —Tarshis, Lauren, author.
Book
2020
0 available of 21 items

Traces the story of a boy who moves across the country to rural northern California, where his efforts to adjust are challenged by a fast-moving firestorm that places family homes and lives at risk.

Unforgiven —Balogh, Mary, author.
Large Print
2016
5 available of 8 items

"New York Times bestselling author Mary Balogh returns to Regency England in the second novel of her Horsemen Trilogy, a tale of unforgiven sins and unforgettable passion. Moira Hayes hadn't seen Kenneth Woodfall in near...

The bachelor —Jeffries, Sabrina, author.
Book
2020
23 available of 29 items

Together forever —Hedlund, Jody, author.
Large Print
2018
0 available of 3 items

Marianne Neumann takes a job as a placing agent with the Children's Aid Society in hopes of finding her younger sister. In 1858 New York she finds it's not always easy to offer children a better life.

The girls with no names —Burdick, Serena, author.
Book
2020
2 available of 29 items

'The Home for Unwanted Girls' meets 'The Dollhouse' in this historical novel of secrets, deception, and sisterhood, as one sister goes missing and her younger sister hatches an audacious plan to be admitted to the House ...

Before the crown —Harding, Flora, author.
Book
2020
7 available of 42 items

A marriage spanning more than seven decades. A match that was deemed unsuitable. A man she wouldn't give up. Step through the palace gates and discover the greatest love story of the 20th century. 'Before the Crown' is a...

The other side of silence —Kerr, Philip, author.
Book
2016
11 available of 11 items

"Being a Berlin cop in 1942 was a little like putting down mousetraps in a cage full of tigers. The war is over. Bernie Gunther, our sardonic former Berlin homicide detective and unwilling SS officer, is now living on th...

An heiress to remember —Rodale, Maya, author.
Book
2020
17 available of 22 items

Beatrice Goodwin left Manhattan a duchess and has returned a divorcée, ready to seize control of her fate and the family business. Goodwin's Department Store, once the pinnacle of fashion, has fallen from favor thanks t...

The weight of ink —Kadish, Rachel, author.
Book
2017
2 available of 12 items

"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of In...

The invention of wings —Kidd, Sue Monk.
Book
2014
46 available of 56 items

"The story follows Hetty "Handful" Grimke, a Charleston slave, and Sarah, the daughter of the wealthy Grimke family. The novel begins on Sarah's eleventh birthday, when she is given ownership over Handful, who is to be h...

The woman in the white kimono —Johns, Ana, author.
Book
2019
6 available of 15 items

A debut novel inspired by the author's true family story, 'The Woman in the White Kimono' is a captivating historical novel that tells the braided stories of a young woman in 1950s Japan, forced to choose between her hea...

Lampedusa : a novel —Price, Steven, 1976- author.
Book
2019
31 available of 36 items

In sun-drenched Sicily, among the decadent Italian aristocracy of the late 1950s, Giuseppe Tomasi, the last prince of Lampedusa, struggles to complete a novel that will be his lasting legacy. With a firm devotion to the ...

The book of longings —Kidd, Sue Monk, author.
Book
2020
15 available of 56 items

"In her fourth work of fiction, Sue Monk Kidd brings her acclaimed narrative gifts to imagine the story of a young woman named Ana. Raised in a wealthy family in Sepphoris with ties to the ruler of Galilee, she is rebell...

1 2 3 ...